top of page


The Bexar County Elections Department is responsible for voter registration activities and election operations throughout Bexar County. This includes 712 voting precincts, 53 political subdivisions, 20 Independent School Districts, 29 Cities, 3 Military Installations (including Lackland AFB, Fort Sam Houston, and Randolph Air Force Base), and over 1,181,842 registered voters.

In addition to registering voters and running elections throughout the county, the Elections Department recruits, trains, and certifies Election Judges and Clerks and Volunteer Deputy Registrars.  They also receive and closely monitor mail-in ballots and provide an online tracker so that voters can track their mail-in ballots.

Our experience with the Elections Department is that they are highly competent and responsive to any needs or concerns voters may have.

Elections Occur Every Year in Bexar County

Every 4 years, on even-numbered years

  1. Election cycle

    • Primary elections are held in the month of March*.  

    • General elections are held on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November

  2. Offices elected:

  • U.S. Election:  President and Vice President of the United States (2024, 2028, 2032, etc,)

  • U.S. Election:  One-third of the United States Senate

  • Texas government officials are elected in alternating even-numbered years (2022, 2026, 2028, etc.). 

    • Governor

    • Lieutenant Governor

    • Attorney General

    • Comptroller of Public Accounts

    • General Land Office Commissioner

    • Agriculture Commissioner 

  • One-third of the Texas Railroad Commission

  • One-half of Texas State Senate 

    • Upcoming elections in Northeast Bexar County: 

      • Senate District 25 in 2022

      • Senate Districts 19, 21, 26 in 2024

  • Texas State Board of Education members are elected to four-year terms to represent one of the state's 15 education districts. Education district borders are redrawn every 10 years. The first time members meet after getting elected to redrawn districts, seven members selected at random have their current terms shortened to two years, meaning that their seats come up for election in different years than the other eight. Northeast Bexar County is represented by Rebecca Bell-Metereau, a Democrat representing District 5 on the State Board of Education who was elected in 2020. Board Term: Jan. 1, 2021 - Jan. 1, 2023.

  • Bexar County Judge and Commissioners Court  

    • Bexar County Judge

    • Commissioners of Precincts 2 and 4 in 2022

    • Commissioners of Precincts 1 and 3 in 2024

  1. The City of San Antonio Mayor and all ten (10) City Council Offices are up for election every odd year in May. 

  2. General elections on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November 

    • Vote on Texas Constitutional Amendments 

Other issues or candidates may be added to this election.

Every 2 years, on even-numbered years

Every 2 years, on odd-numbered years

  1. Election cycle

    • Primary elections are held in the month of March*.  

    • General elections are held on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November

  2. U.S. Congress--all members

  3. Texas 

    • House of Representatives

    • Portions of the 

      • TX Supreme Court

      • Criminal Court of Appeals and the Appeals Court (4th Court of Appeals in Bexar County) are elected every 2 years for 6-year terms.

bottom of page